Skip Navigation
We provide integrated mental health, learning disability and community health services for a population of a million people in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland. With a passion for quality, integration and excellence, our 5,400 staff are working to advance health and wellbeing for you and your community.
Easy Read

Equality Delivery System and Equality Objectives

The Equality team is responsible for the effective implementation of the new mandatory Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS2). The mandatory requirement will be for NHS Trusts to assess their equality considerations in the delivery of services and the implementation of employment practices.

The team has provided regular briefings to workforce and other governance groups throughout the Trust. NHS England has now produced a video which provides a helpful overview of the EDS 2 process which can be viewed here.

What is the Equality Delivery System (EDS2)?

The EDS2 is a toolkit to support NHS organisations to identify, implement, embed and deliver their equality objectives. This process can drive improvements, strengthen the accountability of services to those providing them, bring about workplaces free from discriminatory practices and reduce health inequalities.

The EDS2 is used to support the Trust to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff, which are personal, fair and diverse. The EDS2 is all about making positive differences to healthy living and working lives so that everyone counts.

At the heart of the EDS2 is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into 4 goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and boards. It is against these outcomes that performance is analysed, graded and action determined.

The equality and diversity pages explain how our Trust intends to ensure equality, diversity and human rights in service provision and employment.

These pages will therefore be reviewed and added to on a regular basis. We welcome any suggestions from staff on other information or advice they would like to see added. Please email any suggestions to

EDS Portal

In order to ensure we receive the views from all of our stakeholders,  service users and patients a EDS portal has been developed. This aim is to maximise participation in the EDS grading process.

Your views are essential to help us continually enhance our services and maintain our undertaking to challenge discrimination wherever it may occur.

Please visit the portal here 

Outcome from EDS1

Use the links below to see the Trust's EDS Outcomes, Objectives and Ratings and click here for our supporting evidence.

EDS Outcomes January 2012


Connect with us on ...