The All Age Transformation Journey

Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust (LPT) is on a five-year journey to transform the care we deliver through our mental health and learning disabilities services, by co-designing improvements with service users, carers, staff and other key stakeholders.

Our transformation journey has been inspired by the learnings of Northumberland Tyne & Wear NHS Foundation Trust as they transformed to become an ‘outstanding’ rated Trust. We have adapted their methodology to suit our local area and are working in partnership with staff, service users, carers and stakeholders to create a radical difference in the way we support people who need mental health and learning disability services.


The Five Stages

The All Age Transformation Programme is organised across five stages:

Stage 1

We began the journey by focusing on what excellent mental health and learning disabilities services would look like, exploring how people access services, how their needs are assessed and understood, how they get the treatment they need and how they leave services. We engaged with over a thousand people from across Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland and used their comments and suggestions to form a set of principles that set out what we need to deliver through the transformation.

Stage 2

Using the principles from stage one, we engaged with service users, carers, staff and stakeholders to develop a high-level pathway which gave us an outline of the services we need and how they should operate. We facilitated four week-long workshops that were attended by 84 staff, service users, carers and representatives from other agencies. The workshops focused on the four stages of the service user journey; access, assessment, treatment and discharge (click on each hyperlink to review the outputs of each workshop). We also facilitated 48 face to face and online feed-in sessions for service users, carers, staff, local authority, voluntary sector services and the public. We received 207 online responses and over 90,000 social media engagements. The outcomes of stage two were over 50 different features which were then grouped, themed and prioritised (based on complexity and order) into a number of work streams.

Stage 3

In stage 3 we used the high level pathway designed in stage 2 to create the detailed designs. This includes what our services should look like, how they should run and the resources they need. New intervention pathways were developed as part of this co-design work. The pathways are designed to increase consistency of the treatment offered across teams and support service users in being better informed around their likely journey with our services. The outputs of all of this co-design work has been compiled into 13 Key Design Features Document.

We then worked with our staff to look at how we could organise and structure our mental health and learning disabilities teams to best deliver the 13 key design features, including the new intervention pathways.

Stage 4

We are here. At the end of stage 3, all of the co-design work and outputs were compiled to form a draft new model proposal for LPT’s mental health and learning disabilities services. Stage 4 involves the draft model undergoing a number of tests, trials, refinements and engagement to ensure it is viable and will bring added value to service users before it can be signed off.

Stage 5

Only after successful completion of all of the above will the draft model be signed off by the health system, with LPT’s transformation programme then moving into stage 5. Stage 5 will involve implementing the new mental health and learning disabilities model in steady phases over two years to ensure it is implemented well and the changes can be refined in practice should they need to be.


More information

For more information on the All Age Transformation Programme, please see the additional sub-pages above, review the Key Design Features document, or email the transformation team at