The finalists for Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust’s Celebrating Excellence Awards 2023 have been announced, as the countdown to the celebratory event on Friday 22 September continues.

A huge congratulations goes out to all teams and individuals who have been nominated; the Trust is incredibly proud of you. This year we received a record number of nominations, all of an exceptionally high standard.

The finalists for this year’s awards are as follows:


Team of the Year Award

This award recognises teams who work flexibly and collaboratively, with a ‘can do’ approach to overcoming barriers, delivering continuous improvements for patients, service users and/ or staff.

  • CAMHS Crisis Team- Assessment & Home Treatment, Hub & CAP and Crisis Plus (FYPC.LDA)
  • Specialist Autism Team (FYPC.LDA)
  • Rehabilitation service (DMH)


Excellence in Partnerships Award

This award recognises work to develop integrated, person-centred services through multi-agency working/ partnership arrangements with local agencies, voluntary organisations and community groups which has brought about positive outcomes.

  • Healthy Together leadership team (FYPC.LDA)
  • Unscheduled Care Coordination Hub (CHS)
  • CAMHS Young People’s Team (FYPC.LDA)


Delivering Exceptional Care Award

Awarded to a team or individual who has delivered exceptional care.

  • Learning Disability Crisis Response and Intensive Support Team (FYPC.LDA)
  • Non-Cancer Lymphoedema (CHS)
  • Mohamed Kabbah and Damola Hazzan (DMH)


Excellence in Enabling Services Award

This award recognises the work undertaken by our enabling services to support the Trust to deliver high quality care.

  • Health and Wellbeing Team
  • Patient Experience and Involvement Team
  • Infection Prevention and Control team


Excellence in Patient or Service-user Involvement Award

This award recognises teams, patient and staff collaborations or projects that have used innovative or outstanding practice to involve patients, service-users or carers in continuously improving their services.

  • Tasha Suratwala (Enabling)
  • Azar Richardson (Enabling)
  • Emily Robertshaw and LPT Youth Advisory Board (YAB) Members (Enabling)


Learner of the Year Award

This award recognises a commitment to personal and professional development, utilising the knowledge and skills gained through undertaking learning programmes for the benefit of services and/or patient care.

  • Cat O’Regan (FYPC.LDA)
  • Gemma Kott (CHS)
  • Dr Sewanu Awhangansi (FYPC.LDA)


Excellence in Leadership Award

This award recognises exemplary leadership that demonstrates a positive and sustained impact on patients, service users, carers and staff.

  • Caroline Wears (CHS)
  • Leanne Hawkes (Enabling)
  • Mollie McGirr (FYPC.LDA)


Excellence in Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award

This award recognises those who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to valuing and promoting equality, diversity and inclusion for service users and/or staff.

  • Nicola Brewin (FYPC.LDA)
  • Arts in Mental Health – Tim Sayers and Lydia Towsey (Enabling)
  • Aleem Jaffer (DMH)


Excellence in Quality Improvement Award

This award recognises an outstanding commitment to quality improvement that has resulted in measurable benefits for LPT’s patients, service users and/or staff.

  • Tissue Viability Service (CHS)
  • Involvement Network PLACE service users and carer assessors (Enabling)
  • Digital Development Team (FYPC.LDA)


Excellence in Research Award

This award recognises individuals who have driven the use of research for improvements, undertaken exemplary research or exceeded expectations around involving patients, services users and/or staff in research studies.

  • Huntington’s Disease Research Team (DMH)
  • DECODE Research Team (FYPC.LDA)
  • Karishma Joshi and Sarah Baillon (Enabling)


Group Excellence Award

This award recognises the consistent exceptional work by our teams.

  • Youth Advisory Board (FYPC.LDA)
  • Cohort 1 Physiotherapy/Occupational therapy apprentices (CHS)
  • WeimproveQ Team (Enabling)


Unsung Hero of the Year Award

Selected by the Chair and Chief Executive of the Trust, this award recognises an individual for their exceptional practice or contribution to LPT.

  • Helen Graham (DMH)
  • Matthew Buxton (Enabling)
  • Patsy Huband (CHS)
  • Stacey Bennett (DMH)


Volunteer of the Year Award

Awarded to an individual volunteer or team of volunteers who volunteer for LPT and have made an outstanding contribution to helping LPT go ‘above and beyond’.

  • Caroline Love and her dog – Hugo (FYPC.LDA)
  • Azar Richardson (Enabling)
  • Angela Heathcote (DMH)

Well done to everyone nominated and everyone who has been shortlisted as a finalist.